Chartered Status. Recognising your expertise with formal accreditation. 

Chartered Status recognises the knowledge, skills and behaviours of highly accomplished teachers and school leaders, focusing on developing and recognising high-quality teaching and leadership practice.

Chartered Teacher programme testimonial

1. First, become a full member or fellow – find out more about membership here.

2. Check you’re eligible, then register as a Chartered Status candidate

3. Successfully pass all assessment units

4. Apply for Award of Chartered Status

There are two pathways to Chartered Status:

1. Chartered Teacher Status – for practising teachers and middle leaders

2. Chartered Teacher (Leadership) Status – for school leaders with whole-school or cross-school responsibility

The pathway towards Chartered Status is self-paced, enabling you to complete four assessment units around your schedule.

1. Certificate in Evidence-Informed Practice

2. Professional Knowledge Award 

3. Development of Teaching Practice Award

4. Certificate in Education Research and Inquiry

Once registered, you will have up to three years to complete the four Chartered assessment units and apply for Chartered Status.

Each unit is certified by the Chartered College of Teaching and will be accessed through our online platform, allowing you to work towards Chartered Teacher Status at a pace that best suits you.

You may choose to complete the assessment units in any order. We recommend you begin by completing the Certificate in Evidence-Informed Practice as it will prepare you for the other units.

* Awarded the post-nominals ‘CTeach’ or ‘CTeach (Leadership)’.

* Issued with a formal certificate to recognise your achievement

* Added to the Register of Chartered Teachers

* Join a growing community of Chartered Teachers

* Attend a formal graduation ceremony

Recognition of Prior Certificated Learning provides a means by which candidates may use previous relevant qualifications and professional learning as credit towards achieving Chartered Status. You may be exempted from part or all of one or more of the assessment units that must be completed to achieve the 100 chartership credits required to receive Chartered Teacher Status or Chartered Teacher (Leadership) Status, up to a maximum of 30 credits in total. These qualifications will typically have to have been completed no more than three years prior to you registering to start your Chartered Status journey.

Qualifications that are recognised for RPCL:

- Completion of the Early Career Framework as providing exemption from the Multiple Choice Question Examination (10 credits)

- Mentoring an early career teacher through the Early Career Framework as providing exemption from the Objective Structured Teaching Exercise (10 credits).

- Completion of any of the new and reformed National Professional Qualifications (from 2021 onwards) as 20 credits towards any assessment unit / task of your choice.

- Completion of former National Professional Qualifications as providing exemption from the Written Examination (Leadership) (10 Credits)

- Teachers who successfully complete the School-Led Tutoring training and assessment as part of the National Tutoring Programme can receive exemption from the multiple choice question examination (10 credits).

- Completion of a Master's degree or Doctorate in Education from a University in the UK or Ireland, as exemption from Certificate in Education Research and Inquiry (20 Credits)

- Completion of a Master's degree or Doctorate in Educational Leadership from a University in the UK or Ireland, as exemption from Certificate in Education Research and Inquiry (Leadership) (20 Credits)

- Completion of NASENCo award as exemption from the Written Examination (10 credits)

Individuals with other Chartered Status accreditations (e.g. Chartered London Teacher, CGeog (Teacher), CSciTeach, CMathTeach) may be able to convert to Chartered Teacher Status using previous study, up to a total of 50 credits. Individuals will be required to register as a candidate, complete the Certificate in Evidence-Informed Practice, plus one further assessment unit, and the formal application for Chartered Status.

For full details on exemptions, candidates should consult the Candidate Policy Handbook on MyPD or alternatively contact We will regularly update our list of qualifications that are recognised for RPCL on our website. If you have completed a relevant qualification that includes a formal assessment element and which is not currently recognised, you may wish to ask the qualification provider to contact us.

Start your Chartered journey today!

Please fill in this form to receive our brochure and be first to hear more.


Have any questions? Email: